Skip to content

Hair today, gone tomorrow

August 13, 2012
tags:

How often do you get a haircut? I have a hard time being consistent with getting mine cut, and I certainly have a difficult time planning ahead and actually making an appointment to have it cut.

For the last couple of years, the only hair cuts I had were from Famous Hair (save for a Groupon deal) every four months or so, and I only ever asked for a trim and to touch up layers.

A while back, a friend recommended the Aveda Institute for a hair cut, and I knew it was about time. So a couple weeks ago, I filled out a form on Atlanta Aveda Institute’s Facebook page to request an appointment (no call needed), and I received a confirmation email a few days later.

When the day of the appointment arrived, I still hadn’t decided what I was going to have done. I toyed with going shorter, but for the most part, I was planning to keep it below my shoulders. Matt recommended a Ginnifer Goodwin pixie cut (I’ve been told a few times lately that we look a little similar.), and with Shannon’s encouragement, I entertained the idea of  a short cut like this.

With so many ideas swirling around, I arrived at my appointment unsure of what I would actually do. The student who cut my hair was a little reluctant to recommend such a bold change, but her instructor (who helped throughout the process) excitedly encouraged me to go above the shoulders. Granted, I didn’t take a ton of convincing, but when I found out I could also donate my hair to Locks of Love, I was in. (It ended up being nearly six inches total.)

I wish I had a more recent before photo (it is about a month and a half ago).

I’m enjoying the new look though. It’s nice that it dries so quickly, and I don’t have to worry about knots at all.

And at least I could donate my hair since I can’t donate blood again until next June after traveling to Punta Cana this summer.

Leave a Reply

