Skip to content

Run, Relax, and Repeat

August 20, 2012

That blueberry bagel was delicious.

5K. 3.1 miles. I’ve run this distance countless times, but a couple weekends ago, I ran my first official 5K.

Yes, I ran The Color Run in March, which is technically a 5K, but it wasn’t timed, and it was so overcrowded, it was impossible to run the whole time, even if you wanted to.

The Atlanta Track Club August 5K was a pretty difficult course, but I believe it’s not quite as difficult as the course on which I normally train. And luckily, the morning of the race was overcast, cool, and not humid at all.

My goal time was 35 minutes. Super slow if you’re a serious runner, but I knew it was something I could do. I ended up finishing just as the clock hit 35:00, but my actual chip time was 34:19. I’ll take that as a victory.

Then a few hours later, Matt and I packed up and headed to a cabin in the North Georgia mountains, where we were invited by my friend Beth and her husband. We went up there almost exactly a year ago, and it was nice to return for a weekend of relaxation.

Grilling out, roasting marshmallows, relaxing by the fire with a pumpkin beer, and a morning hike that included a waterfall. Perfection.

And of course we stopped at R&A Orchards again on the way in for pumpkin butter (two jars this time), blueberry jam, peaches, veggies for grilling at the cabin, and delicious homemade fruit pies for enjoying at the cabin.

It’s always so nice to get away (no phone service or internet) and really relax. And it actually got cool while we were there โ€” I should have packed a hoodie. Can you believe fall is just around the corner?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Sean M permalink
    August 20, 2012 9:37 pm

    We did ColorMeRad in July and had an absolute blast! It took about 4 days for all the color to come off our skin. Hope you had a fun time.

    • August 21, 2012 8:23 am

      I had a similar experience with The Color Run! I still had pink splotches for a few days. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. August 21, 2012 10:43 am

    Love the photos! I was going to do the Color Run here (I think it’s this weekend actually?) but it was $50. No way am I paying that for a 5K.

    • August 21, 2012 10:44 am

      Also! None of this “Super slow if youโ€™re a serious runner” business! Everyone runs at his or her own pace, and it doesn’t make you less of a runner.

      • August 21, 2012 11:06 am

        ๐Ÿ˜‰ And yes, The Color Run was definitely overpriced, though I don’t believe it was that much in Atlanta.

Leave a Reply

