Skip to content

Radio silence

December 22, 2012

Wow, where have I been the last two months?

Mostly, I’ve been working during the week, and relaxing on the weekends. And running, baking, and shopping.

Despite the onset of the holidays, I’ve been serious about keeping up my running schedule. It’s not quite as strenuous as before, but I’m trying not to hold that against myself through the winter — as long as I get out there between two and four times per week.

The sky during my run on Thursday.

The sky during my run on Thursday.

Closeup of one batch of peppermint bark.

Closeup of one batch of peppermint bark.

I’ve spent a lot of time over the last few weeks making peppermint bark for my co-workers (and sampling along the way). I absolutely love this recipe; I found it on City Sage years ago, and it has become my Christmas staple. My co-workers loved it last year, so I made even more this year. The bark takes a little effort, but it’s very simple. And it only uses the microwave and fridge!

This year I have taken nearly the entire holiday break off work. Today marks day one of my 12 days of vacation, and I couldn’t be more excited. This is my longest break since I started working. I’m ready for some serious fun and relaxation.

I’m excited to see friends who are visiting for the holidays; get a good night sleep every night; visit my family for a few days; spend quality time with my boyfriend and cats; and just thoroughly enjoy the break.

On today’s agenda: laundry, one last-minute shopping errand, manicure;, make more bark for my and Matt’s families, wrap gifts, and catch up with an out-of-town friend who is visiting today.

Let the vacation begin!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

