Skip to content

Pumpkin Beer Blind Tasting

September 8, 2013

If you know me, you probably know how much I love all things pumpkin in the fall. Pumpkin spice coffee, waffles, pancakes, and pumpkin beer.

On Saturday, Matt and I hosted a couple friends for a blind tasting of 14 different pumpkin beers. Fourteen may sound like a lot, but there are still more pumpkin beers I want to include, so there may be a part two later on.

PumpkinBeerLineup2

One through seven of the lineup

The lineup (with my score out of 10):

  1. Sam Adams Harvest Pumpkin (10)
  2. Uinta Punk’n (4)
  3. Foothills Cottonwood Pumpkin (8.5)
  4. Southern Tier Pumking (10)
  5. Anderson Valley Fall Hornin’ (4)
  6. Dogfish Head Punkin (5)
  7. Harpoon Imperial Pumpkin (8, tasted some gingerbread)
  8. Weyerbacher Imperial Pumpkin (9)
  9. Southampton Pumpkin (3)
  10. New Belgium Pumpkick (7.5, a little sour but didn’t make me pucker)
  11. Terrapin Pumpkinfest (7.5, tasted notes of ginger that I’d never noticed before)
  12. Starr Hill Pumpkin Porter (4)
  13. Rogue Pumpkin Patch (7.5)
  14. New Holland Ichabod (5)

We opted to leave Pumking out of the official rankings because we absolutely love it, and we all knew immediately which one it is — so much different than any other.

Overall, I wasn’t surprised with how I rated most of them, whether toward the top or bottom end. The most surprising, however, was that Sam Adams was rated so highly by everyone. Weyerbacher has long been one of my favorites, so I’m glad it was justified blindly.

cheers

From a trip to The Porter Beer Bar on Friday night

Most of all, it was a lot of fun to sample and rate these beers with all branding stripped away. For part two, I’m hoping we can take the top selections and compare them with a few others. Based on overall rankings from three people (Matt was the moderator) and omitting Pumking, the top three fell as 1) Sam Adams Harvest Pumpkin, 2) Weyerbacher Imperial Pumpkin, 3) Harpoon Imperial Pumpkin.

On another note, I’m starting my new job at a major university tomorrow, and I’m excited for a fresh start! My last day at my previous job was on Tuesday; afterward, I drove straight to Charlotte to spend a few days with my mom — we had a great time shopping (new work clothes), walking with Kolby the dog, and relaxing. Today, I’ve been cleaning house and organizing to get ready for tomorrow. Cheers to a new beginning!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

